Our Board


Graeme Samuel AC is a Vice Chancellor’s Professorial Fellow in Monash University’s Business School and co-director of the Monash Business Policy Forum. He is also Chair of the Victorian Taxi Services Commission, a Commissioner of the National Rugby League, a Councillor of the Australian National University, President of Alzheimer’s Australia, Chair of the South Eastern Melbourne Primary Health Network, Council member of the National Health and Medical Research Council and Chair of its Health Innovation Advisory Committee and the National Institute for Dementia Research and Member of Aged Care Financing Authority. He was Chair of the Commonwealth Government’s Panel of Review of Australia’s Independent Medical Research Institutes. Graeme has held a number of roles in public life including former Chairman of the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission, Associate Member of the Australian Communications and Media Authority and President of the National Competition Council. He was appointed an Officer of the Order of Australia in 1998. In 2010 he was elevated to a Companion of the Order of Australia "for eminent service to public administration through contributions in the area of economic reform and competition law, and to the community through leadership roles with sporting and cultural organisations". Graeme joined the AADRF Board of Directors in 2016.


Maree McCabe is the Interim Chief Executive Officer of Alzheimer’s Australia. Maree’s career background has involved senior executive positions across the mental health and aged care sectors. Since Maree’s appointment as CEO of Alzheimer’s Australia Vic in 2010, she has successfully overseen an 84% increase in staff, driven the development of the Perc Walkley Dementia Learning Centre - a world first multisensory environment for experiential learning in dementia care and has successfully expanded critical dementia support services in regional Victoria including the establishment of multidisciplinary regional hubs in Geelong, Ballarat, Drouin and Bendigo.


Neil is the former Managing Director of Dryen Australia Pty. Ltd., one of Australia’s largest domestic linen importers and wholesalers servicing Australian and overseas retailers. He has been actively involved in the day-to-day management of the business for over 40 years with an emphasis on finance, administration, sourcing and procurement.

Neil has served in leadership positions in various organisations in the not-for-profit sector for many years, specialising in governance and finance. Neil has served on the board of Alzheimer’s Australia VIC since 2003 and is the current Chair. Between 2007 and 2013 Neil served on the board of Alzheimer’s Australia Inc. as Vice President. Neil has been on the Board of AADRF-Vic since 2012 and joined the Board of AADRF in 2014. Neil’s passion for Alzheimer’s Australia was born out of family experience with dementia.


Kaarin is the Director of the ANU Centre for Research on Ageing, Health and Wellbeing (CRAHW) and leads the NHMRC Centre of Research Excellence in Cognitive Health and a Dementia Collaborative Research Centre. Her substantive research interests focus on cognitive ageing, dementia epidemiology, the impact of cognitive impairment on everyday function, and dementia risk reduction. She leads the PATH Through Life study, a 16-year population-based study of three cohorts, including over 7000 adults, spanning early to late adulthood. Kaarin is also involved in several interventions to prevent cognitive decline and reduce the risk of dementia and with colleagues developed the first online risk assessment tool for Alzheimer’s disease that uses only self-report measures. Kaarin is a Fellow of the Academy of Social Sciences in Australia and a member of the AARP and AgeUK Global Council on Brain Health Governance Committee. Kaarin Chaired the AADRF Scientific Panel, from 2010 to 2013, and joined the AADRF Board of Directors in 2014.