Skip to main content

Dementia Australia Honours

Dementia Australia Honours acknowledge those who have made significant contributions to Dementia Australia.

Prior to October 2017 during the federated era of Alzheimer’s Australia the former state and territory organisations had different approaches to honouring those who made an extraordinary difference to the lives of people living with dementia, their families and carers. The titles, Honorary or Life Members, were traditionally awarded by the respective state and territory Board members of the time.

As the former membership programs have been dissolved we uphold the decisions made by our past colleagues to honour those who contributed towards the shaping of the organisation Dementia Australia is today.

Neil Samuel, a man wearing a suit and glasses, stands at a lectern and speaks to an audience.

Post October 2017 Dementia Australia Honours were introduced. The inaugural recipient was Neil Samuel, awarded in November 2020.

Dementia Australia Honourees

Lyn Allison

David Andrews

Margaret Baulch

Margaret Cameron

Patricia Collett OAM

Anne Fairhall

Val Fell OAM

Greg Fraser

David Galbally QC

Pamela Galli AO

Geoffrey Gill

Stephen Hawke

Carolyn Holten

Craig Joel

Dr Susan Koch

Garry Lovell

Mandy Lovell

Mary Lyttle

Edie Mayhew

Maree McCabe AM

Lynette Moore

Brian Moss AM

Michael Pedler

Barbara Potter AM

Gordon B Robinson

Nicholas K Rogers

Jack Sach

Neil Samuel OAM

Sir David Smith AO

Carmel Thorne

Anne Tudor OAM

Tom Valenta OAM

Tony Walsh

Keith Wehl

Trevor Wheeler

Share or print
Last updated
16 April 2024