Dementia Australia Honours

Dementia Australia Honours acknowledge those who have made significant contributions to Dementia Australia.

Prior to October 2017 during the federated era of Alzheimer’s Australia the former state and territory organisations had different approaches to honouring those who made an extraordinary difference to the lives of people living with dementia, their families and carers. The titles, Honorary or Life Members, were traditionally awarded by the respective state and territory Board members of the time.

As the former membership programs have been dissolved we uphold the decisions made by our past colleagues to honour those who contributed towards the shaping of the organisation Dementia Australia is today.

Post October 2017 Dementia Australia Honours were introduced. The inaugural recipient was Neil Samuel, awarded in November 2020.

Dementia Australia Honourees

Lyn Allison Stephen Hawke Gordon B Robinson
David Andrews Carolyn Holten Nicholas K Rogers
Margaret Baulch Dr Susan Koch Jack Sach
Margaret Cameron Garry Lovell Neil Samuel OAM
Patricia Collett OAM Mandy Lovell Sir David Smith AO
Anne Fairhall Mary Lyttle Carmel Thorne
Val Fell OAM Edie Mayhew Anne Tudor OAM
Greg Fraser Lynette Moore Tom Valenta OAM
David Galbally QC Brian Moss AM Tony Walsh
Pamela Galli AO Michael Pedler Keith Wehl
Geoffrey Gill Barbara Potter AM Trevor Wheeler